Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal             Outstanding H.S. Teacher of the Year

Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal

The Schoellkopf Medal is the oldest ACS local section award in the nation, and was named in honor of chemical industry entrepreneur Jacob F. Schoellkopf, founder of National Aniline Works and, in part, is a testimony of achievement in chemical technology on the Niagara Frontier. 

The first Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal was awarded in 1931. For 89 consecutive years the Western New York Section of the American Chemical Society has recognized the work of its peers with a citation of their accomplishments and their continuing achievements in the chemical sciences.

For the past 2 years, the WNYACS Awards Committee has regretably postponed the annual Schoellkopf award banquet due to pandemic restrictions and common sense caution in the interest of public safety. In both 2020 and 2021, however, outstanding Schoellkopf medalists have been named.

In 2021, the WNYACS Schoellkopf award jury selected Prof. David Hangauer, of the Department of Chemistry, University at Buffalo, as the 91th Schoellkopf Medal recipient… “in recognition of his visionary work on the discovery of cancer therapies and his entrepreneurial impact for the advancement of the pharmaceutical industry in the region.”

In 2020, the WNYACS awarded the Schoellkopf medal to Prof. Mary McCourt, of the Department of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Physics, Niagara University… “in recognition of her pioneering contributions to the development of drug delivery methods for the treatment of breast cancer, diabetes, and Alzheimer’s disease, and for her outstanding dedication to teaching and mentoring.”

The Schoellkopf Award Banquet: Tuesday April 12, 2022
Cash bar and hors d’oeuvres at 6:00 PM
The Hotel Lafayette
391 Washington St. | Buffalo, NY 14203

For a list of past Schoellkopf recipients, see the Schoellkopf History Page.

Schoellkopf Medal Nominations are accepted at any time. Please see the Nomination Instructions for more information.  

Outstanding High School Science
Teacher of the Year

The Outstanding High School Science Teacher of the Year Award (OSTY) is presented annually by the Western New York section of the American Chemical Society to a science teacher after soliciting nominations from 95 area high schools.

Congratulations to our OSTY for 2021, Chris Mekelburg, of St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute.

Congratulations to our OSTY for 2020, Burton Howell, of Batavia High School.

OSTY Nominations are accepted at any time. Nominations for consideration in 2022 should be submitted by Wednesday, April 13.
Please download the OSTY Nomination Instructions for more information. 

%d bloggers like this: